SSN Scoreboard


Western Buckeye League

Midwest Athletic Conference

Way Back Machine

All-Time Mercer County Football Coaches Winning Records

Speck All Time Mercer County Rushing Leader

Bulldog Rushing Kings - Otis and Swaney

First Mercer County Football Team To Play In A State Championship Game? Celina

The '3 Point Shot' Was Made For J.T. Hoyng

In 1993 Cinderella Wore Orange And Black

Upset of the 20th Century - Mendon-Union Knocks Off Delphos St. John's

'Here We Go Redskins, Here We Go'

When Celina Had Just One Team

Celina Girls Track 'Dynasty'

Private Schools The Reason For Low Attendance At State Basketball Tournaments?

The MAC and New Bremen Football

CLICK HERE - Mercer County HS Football Records

Celina Girls Track 'Dynasty'

Inside Look at OHSAA Football State Semifinal Pairings


please email us at - theusbc@yahoo.com


SSN Scoreboard

Inside Look at OHSAA Football State Semifinal Pairings

Stateline Area Teams


Division V  Games at 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 26
Region 20 vs. Region 19
Coldwater (12-1) vs. Coshocton (12-1) at Lewis Center Olentangy Braves Stadium

Division VI  Games at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 25
Region 22 vs. Region 24
Patrick Henry (13-0) vs. Marion Local (12-1) at Lima Spartan Stadium

Division VII  Games at 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 26
Region 28 vs. Region 26
Minster (9-4) vs. McComb (12-1) vs. at Wapakoneta Harmon Field

Click Here - COMPLETE OHSAA Football State Semifinal Pairings

Consecutive Playoff Wins

Marion Local reached the state championship game for the fifth-straight year in 2015, the Flyers set a new OHSAA record for consecutive playoff victories with 24 before losing to Kirtland in the D VI state championship game. Not far behind is four-time defending state champion Coldwater with 23 straight playoff wins. If the Cavaliers can win the D V State title this seasom they would pass Marion Local with 25 straight playoff wins.

Consecutive Playoff Wins

 No.   School Years
  24  Marion Local 2011-12-13-14-15
 *23  Coldwater 2012-13-14-15-16
  23  Cleveland St. Ignatius 1991-92-93-94-95-96
  17  Youngstown Ursuline 2008-09-10-12
  17  Newark Catholic 84-85-86-87-88
  16  Delphos St. Johns 1997-98-99-2000
  15  Versailles 1993-94-95-96
  13  Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller 1975-76-77-79-80-81
* denotes streak is still active. Updated Nov. 20, 2016

MAC Builds on Success

The Midwest Athletic Conference is now 65-2 in first round playoff games against non-MAC schools since the playoffs expanded to eight qualifiers per region in 1999. (The two losses include a Versailles loss to Lima Central Catholic in 2005 and a Delphos St. Johns loss to Arlington in 2014.)

The MAC record against non-MAC schools in OHSAA regional championship games is 51-13 and 33-7 in state semifinal games.

In 2014, the MAC became the first league to have three of its members win football state championships in the same season (Coldwater in D V, Minster in D VI and Marion Local in D VII). The MAC has won two state championships in the same season five times, but never three titles. In 2015, three MAC schools again played in state championship games, with Coldwater winning in D V and Fort Recovery winning in D VII, while Marion Local fell to Kirtland in D VI.

Three MAC football members have never won a State title, Anna, New Bremen and Parkway.

Playoff Streaks

Coldwater owns the longest active streak of qualifying for the play -offs at 20 straight years. The Cavaliers have been to the state championship game the last seven years. Newark Catholic owns the record with eight straight title game appearances from 1980-87 followed by Cleveland St. Ignatius with six in a row from 1991-96. Until 2012, Columbus St. Francis DeSales had owned the longest active streak at 18-straight years, but the Stallions missed the playoffs that season. After Coldwater, the second-longest active streak is held by Mogadore at 18 straight playoff years. The all-time longest streak of consecutive years making the playoffs is 22 years by Cleveland St. Ignatius from 1988 through 2009.

Consecutive Years in Playoffs (Years)

Cleveland St. Ignatius 22 (1988-2009)
* Coldwater 20 (1997-2016)
Columbus St. Francis DeSales 18 (1994-2011)
* Mogadore 18 (1999-2016)
Akron Manchester 15 (1991-2005)
* Kettering Archbishop Alter 16 (2001-2016)
* Steubenville 16 (2001-2016)
Clinton-Massie 14 (2002-2015)
Cin. Archbishop Moeller 13 (2002-2014)
* denotes active streak

Click Here - Inside Look at the State Semifinal

Celina Wins!

SSN's Dave Schmidt with the call...

1991 Ohio High School Regional Championship basketball game. Last second shot by Jill Froning for unranked Celina wins the game over Ohio's #1 rated Pickerington (were also rated in USA Today Top 5)...Celina went on to win the Ohio D1 State Championsip game. Game was played at Bellefontaine HS, Dave Schmidt doing the play-by-by for Celina Cable TV.

Privacy Policy